The National Flag of India - History, Colours and Design - Flag of India

The Indian National Flag represents the hopes and aspirations of the individuals of India. it's the image of our national pride. Over the last 5 decades, many people together with members of military have ungrudgingly set down their lives to stay the tricolor flying in its full glory.

Design of The National Flag of India - तिरंगा

The oblong tricolor flag consists of 3 equal horizontal segments, with saffron on top, white within the middle and green at the bottom. At the middle of the white stripe is a depiction of Ashok Chakra in navy blue.

National Flag Of India

The present colours and arrangement of stripes within the Flag of India, along side a picture of a spinning wheel, date to August 1931, when the design was officially adopted at the annual meeting of the All-India Congress. On Jul 22, 1947, the Indian national flag was officially hoisted. once the partition of India in August 1947, the colors of fresh independent India’s flag remained the same, however its original spinning wheel was replaced by a blue chakra - The Ashok Chakra.

Symbolism of The National Flag of India

The colors and symbols of the Indian National flag hold deep philosophical meaning. every color represents a particular side of Indian culture that resonates deeply inside the hearts of the citizens. The saffron stands for sacrifice and renunciation, the white stands for peace and therefore the green stands for courageousness and immortality. The Ashok Chakra is a depiction of dharma Chakra. it's twenty four spokes diverging from the center. It represents righteousness, justice and forwardness. The symbolism of wheel is that of constant movement that heralds progress and repels stagnation.

The saffron, white, and green stripes of the Flag of India represent distinct values of the country. they're said to stand for, respectively, spirit and sacrifice, peace and truth, and religion and chivalry. A widely held unofficial interpretation is that the saffron stands for purity and spirituality, white for peace and truth, green for fertility and prosperity and therefore the wheel for justice. Another interpretation is that the colours reflect India' spiritual diversity, with saffron for Hinduism, green for Islam, white for Jainism and Christianity, and the wheel for Buddhism.

Another underlying symbolism of the 3 colors relies on the secular principles of India as a country. The saffron represents Hinduism, Buddhism and Jainism, the white is for Christianity and therefore the green stands for Islam. The flag as an entire represents a confluence of all spiritual principles, however in particular a philosophy of tolerance and morality as delineated by the Ashok Chakra within the middle.

Who designed The National Flag of India?

The Indian tricolor was designed by Pingali Venkayya, who was a freedom fighter and was a fan of Mahatma Gandhiji. Whereas Pingali Venkayya designed the tricolour, on his design, the Indian Flag is based. Pingali Venkayya had designed the flag of India and given it to Mahatma Gandhiji in 1921 throughout the session of the All India Congress Committee in Vijaywada. The flag, at that time, was made from green and Saffron colour, representing Muslim and Hindu communities of India. Mahatma Gandhi later advised the addition of the white stripe and therefore the spinning wheel once that the flag was unofficially adopted. His version of tricolor was initial employed by the Indian National Congress.

Check out Significance of the Flag Of India

Kesari (Saffron): This colour, which is at the top, represents strength and bravery of the country.

White: The white color of our flag indicates honesty, purity, peace of the nation.

Ashoka Chakra: The Ashoka Chakra is rendered in navy blue on a white background substitution the image of the charkha of the pre-independence version of the flag. The chakra signifies that there's life in movement and death in stagnation. it's twenty four equally spaced stokes.

Green: The green colour at the lowest indicates prosperity, growth and fertility of the land.

Approximate these below color values may be taken for use in Indian Flag

Colors HEX CMYK Pantone RGB
Saffron #FF9933 0-40-80-0 130 U 255-153-51
White #FFFFFF 0-0-0-0 White 255-255-255
Green #138808 86-0-94-47 2258 C 19-136-8
Navy Blue #000080 100-100-0-50 2735 C 0-0-128

Flag Code of India:

Flag Code of India, 2002, takes impact from 26 January 2002 and supersedes the ‘Flag Code – India’ as it existed.

1. The National Flag shall be a tri-colour panel created from 3 rectangular panels or sub-panels of equal widths. the color of the highest panel shall be India saffron (Kesari) which of the lowest panel shall be India green. the center panel shall be white, bearing at its centre the design of Ashoka Chakra in navy blue colour with twenty four equally spaced spokes. The Ashoka Chakra shall otherwise be screen printed or otherwise printed or stenciled or appropriately embroidered and shall be fully visible on either side of the Flag within the centre of the white panel.

2. The flag of India shall be made from hand spun and hand woven wool/cotton/silk khadi bunting.

3. The national flag shall be rectangular in shape. The quantitative relation of the length to the height (width) of the Flag shall be 3:2.

4. The standard sizes of the flag shall be as follows:- (Flag Size No. Dimensions in millimeters)
1. 6300 X 4200
2. 3600 X 2400
3. 2700 X 1800
4. 1800 X 1200
5. 1350 X 900
6. 900 X 600
7. 450 X 300
8. 225 X 150
9. 150 X 100

An acceptable size should be chosen for display. The flags of 450X300 millimeter size are supposed for aircrafts on VVIP flights, 225X150 mm size for motor-cars and 150X100 mm size for table flags.

Disposal of National Flag of India

When no longer in a fit condition to be used, a flag should be disposed of in a dignified manner, ideally by burning or ground burial.